Hello Guest, if you're reading this it means you have not yet registered. Please take a second, Click here to register and in a few simple steps, you will be able to enjoy all the many features of our fine community. Please take a few minutes and introduce yourself in the section for you to meet the members of our community.
To remove these and other advertisements, become a site supporter and donate.

Thread: Any break-in required?

1. #1 Default Any break-in required? 
    As the title suggests, I am a veteran of Nitro R/C, but new to 1/5th scale. Is there any "break-in" required as with Nitros? I read the sticky thread on things to do before I start it up, but was wondering what the differences are between nitro and gas, as far as engine maintenance and operating styles.

Thanks for the help.

2. #2 Default  
    Real Name
    Clayton
    Nitro engines are precision machines with tapered heads.
    These engines are much less precise, run at 3 - 4 times lower RPM

Some say putter around for a tank of fuel, I just drove mine and after several gallons it still runs, still has good power and I guess you could consider when was the last time you broke in a weedeater or lawn mower.

Clayton
    Vertigo Performance

http://5thscaleracing.com/vb/image.php?type=sigpic&userid=11&dateline=117807681  9
    Vertigo Easy Access Clutch Unit, The absolute quickest way to access the HPI Baja clutch.

3. #3 Default  
    I was kinda thinking along the lines of a weed wacker or lawn mower too, but with a $1,000 investment I wanted to make sure. Thanks for the quick reply.

4. #4 Default  
    Real Name
    Clayton
    A new engine is $89.00 and that is for a 29cc upgrade (head, piston, crank) if you waste your engine early it is a good excuse to upgrade to a 29 :p

http://www.davesmotors.com/store/product701.html

Any break-in required?

This with the X can or HPI pipe kiss (Yes Mradlin I did mean kick LOL!!) ASS over the stock engine

Clayton
    Vertigo Performance